Embassy of Belgium in Washington, DC

Language: NL | FR | EN

Main menu

Return to our home page Bookmark / Add to Favorites Printer Friendly Search website  


Federal Government

The decision-making power in Belgium falls to several partners, equal in law.

The redistribution follows two broad lines: one linguistic (and more broadly, everything relating to culture), the other economic.

Belgium today has 3 Communities, based on language, and 3 regions with autonomous economic powers.

The country is further divided into ten provinces
and 589 communes.

The federal State retains important areas of competence such as foreign affairs or justice.

Reconciling regional, cultural identity and federal structure brings the decision-making process closer to the people, with a greater quality of life.


Search | Site Map | Downloadable Forms | Legal Disclaimer | Comments

Copyright © 2006 Embassy of Belgium in Washington

Belgian Federal Government